Four graduate students from each of the five core departments at Smith Engineering are acknowledged for outstanding service to their roles as Teaching Assistants with the Dean’s Teaching Assistant Award.

The Dean’s Teaching Assistant Award is intended to reward excellent Teaching Assistants (TAs) and ultimately contribute to enhancing the overall undergraduate and graduate experiences. It is open to all Graduate Students participating in a TA assignment within Engineering departments. Each Engineering Department will nominate up to four exceptional TAs annually that will each receive a $3,000 award.

This year’s recipients are:


Department of Chemical Engineering

  • Elizabeth Bygott
  • Joshua Chamberland
  • Aldo Gonzáles López
  • Houda Haidar

 four headshots of students


Department of Civil Engineering

  • Paramon Koutorjevski
  • Natalie Niro
  • Russell Jackson
  • Jacob Yager

four headshots of students


Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

  • Omidreza Bagheri
  • Marufa Yeasmin Mukta
  • Bryony Schonewille
  • Sayed Moslem Shokrolahi

four headshots of students


The Robert M. Buchan Department of Mining

  • Katherine Yohanna Arenas-Collao
  • Nuri Kalyoncuoglu
  • Yagiz Alp Tastekin
  • Batur Tokac

 four headshots of students


Department of Mechanical and Materials Engineering

  • Luke Crispo
  • Jianfeng Hou
  • Maddy Moran
  • Erik Ridings

 four headshots of students



This article is relevant to the following Strategic Actions as defined in the Strategic Plan: